About the Climate Smart Communities Program

The Climate Smart Communities (CSC) program began in 2009 as an interagency initiative of New York State. The program is jointly sponsored by the following New York State agencies: Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC); Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA); Department of Public Service (DPS); Department of State (DOS); Department of Transportation (DOT; Department of Health (DOS); Division of Homes and Community Renewal (HCR); and the Power Authority (NYPA). DEC acts as the main administrator of the program.

Over time CSC has grown into a multifaceted initiative. To download a two-page introduction to the program, click here.

For guidance on participating in the program, please see the Getting Started page.

In 2015, the CSC program became a member of the Sustainable States Network, to learn from similar programs in other states, exchange information about effective practices, and collaborate on projects that advance shared goals. 

This website was launched in 2018 as a new way for local governments in New York State to apply for CSC certification. This website, known as the portal, provides an online platform for local governments to upload documentation, communicate with those who review documentation, and track their progress toward certification. By providing detailed information about the program and enabling regular updates, this portal replaces the CSC Certification Manual, which was issued in 2014.

Learn More